Kamryn and Nana Take a Walk

Just two blocks away from us is a paved walkway on the Franklin College campus. The college graciously opened the athletic park and walking path to general public at no cost to us. I frequent both the path and campus with evening walks. Occasionally one of the grandkids walks with me but I mostly walk my own pace and enjoy the scenery. Today was a perfect day to walk. The weather was particularly agreeable. Kamryn, three years old, joined me today.

She possesses one of those little cars that one can “walk” or Nana can push. Today, Nana pushed—at first. If anyone followed us, they would be challenged to describe it to another person. We stopped to pick a couple of wildflowers, stopped to reposition baby doll, we stopped to watch the college ball game (to the delight of other spectators who began watching Kamryn instead of the game), we meandered through empty tennis courts, stopped at almost every bench along the walk, crossed the college parking lot, stopped to fill the car with gas several times, and an hour and a half later, we were home in the back yard blowing bubbles.

The walk reminded me of the cartoon, “Family Circus” when Billy takes the longest route possible to accomplish a short errand. Where is my life journey taking me, I wondered as we strolled along with a light breeze that kept us cool under a very hot sun. Life is an adventure. Look at a map of Paul’s missionary trips sometime. Then put the map beside a similar map of topography. You will be surprised to see the mountainous travel they made in what is now Eastern Turkey. Paul, Barnabas, Silas, and Timothy were hardy travelers as well as preachers and church congregation builders.

Paul wrote to the Galatian Believers, “. . . I say then, Walk in the Spirit and ye shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh.” (Galatians 5:16) In your life journey, whether it is a smooth straight pathway, or a pathway that has curves, mountains, and valleys, the most important thing is to walk in the guidance of the Good Shepherd’s presence. You will not get lost, and you will arrive at your Heavenly destination.

Kamryn was a delightful companion. I got in purposeful exercise, and absorbed a life lesson along the way. I’d declare that a profitable walk this mid-summer afternoon.

14 Comments

  1. Sounds like a profitable walk to me. Everyone should take one.

  2. Glenda

    Just a little application, since you didn’t make it…how often do we take the roundabout way, trying to convince God that OUR way is better than HIS way, when we would save lots of time and energy just staying on the Straight Path? Yep, I’d say that was a profitable walk!

    • Lots of applications this piece could take. I just stick to one usually because I want to stay short and hit one point home.

  3. Great post!!!! I love it!!! I may re-blog this on MS&D for this coming Saturday, if it is OK with you?

    Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • It is fine. I am flattered. I thought this just simple, but it inspired me! Thank you for reading my little homespun stuff.

  4. Reblogged this on Morning Story and Dilbert.

  5. I loved your post! I’m a Nana too and this made my heart smile . . .
    but more importantly, thank you for sharing the life lesson 🙂

  6. Lyn

    Grandchildren are an absolute delight to be with. When you take them for a walk – though mostly they are the ones taking you somewhere – it’s never ordinary. LOL I should know, I have eight grandchildren. You quite often find, as the Word says, that a ‘little child shall lead them.’ Sometimes, there wisdom is beyond belief.

  7. It is always beautiful to see the world again through the eyes of a child.

  8. I loved this post. Very insightful! We certainly never know where our journeys will take us.

  9. What a beautiful story and life lesson. Thank you for sharing your experience with us 🙂

  10. what a great blog. I agree – very inspiring and life is an adventure.

  11. Great read !! I am reminded of the wise Solomon’s penned scripture…
    Proverbs 3:5-6… Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    And lean not on your own understanding;
    6 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
    And He shall direct your paths. (NKJV)

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

  12. Catching up, as always. I know exactly the cartoon to which you refer–a favorite of mine, as well. I love your “little homespun stuff.” Best life lessons I know of!

Leave a Reply

