Planting a Body Seed

I think of planting seeds when we put a body in the ground. It will rise again.

It appears that all cultures have a ritual connected with death. Today the body of a dear friend of mine is planted in the ground in a cemetery in Iowa. It is sown in corruption. Regardless of preservation, that body will take on corruption. Today is not a good day to speak of that if I were speaking with family, I suppose. After a death, we tend to dwell on the eternal. Reality, however, sets in at a graveside service.

It is then that the reality of death being part of life becomes a truth. We must dispose of the shell in which the spirit of that body dwelt. Paul spoke of it as taking on corruption, but also spoke of the incorruptible. All of I Corinthians 15 teaches about the resurrection and in particular, verses 51-55. This passage describes the decay of the mortal and the life of the immortal. “We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed.” I quote from verse 51. At the second appearing of Christ, the graves will be opened, the dead in Christ will rise first, then those who remain will be caught up to be with Christ. (I Thessalonians 4:15-18) So, should the Lord come as Paul tells us, before I die, the body seeds of my parents, my sister, and my sweet friend Margaret, will take on incorruptible and we will “fly away” as the song joyfully states!

Those are blessed verses on which to dwell on a day when another body seed is planted. “In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye. . .” If I happen to escape death and am alive on that wonderful day, I suppose those friends who have known me for some time will be able to say to me, “Karyl you are so slow!”

Dear Reader, if you do not know Christ as your Savior, and are not certain of that eternal life, please contact me at kentner@embarqmail.com and I will be more than happy to introduce you to my Savior.

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for giving us this perspective, Karyl. I am thought of as strange because I have never had any desire to visit the graves of my parents or grandparents, simply because I KNOW that they are not there any longer! I do seek to honor their memory by the way I live, and although I know I often fall short, I do hope that people see some of the good qualities of my ancestors in me. My thoughts and prayers are with you today, as I know you would love to be with Margaret’s family to share their memories of your dear friend. Such a blessed assurance we have that we will see our loved ones again, because of Jesus Christ and His gift of salvation!

    • Thank you Glenda, for your sweet comment. I really did not want to go to the funeral even. Yes, I’d loved to have seen Mark, but we would not be able to just sit and talk. I’m hoping other friends who were able to attend because they live in the area will give my family a report. I totally agree with your comment. Thank you for making it. Now I don’t feel quite as alone in the way I feel too.

Leave a Reply

