Rest is an activity!

Psalm 37 has nine imperatives. This is one of them. Please recall before reading this: an imperative sentence has an understood subject (you).

“Rest in the Lord. . .” which is a resting while working kind of rest. It is not a rocking chair kind of rest. It is more like sitting in the shade breaking beans. This rest means waiting for direction in a peaceful manner. This kind of rest is found in Proverbs 4:8 which describes the trusting soul as one who lies down in peace and sleeps. It is Peter, in Acts 12, sleeping in a quad of guards awaiting court the following morning. Jesus rested in sound sleep while the winds howled around him and threatened to sink the ship. We must remember that Jesus calms our storms, fears, and anxious moments. Rest, and wait.

This is a little sliver of the Bible study lessons I have on Psalm 37. I developed the lessons three years ago and brought them back out last week to use. Sometimes I look at what I have written in the past with surprise!

5 Comments

  1. Had never thought of ‘rest’ as being an activity..but guess it is…THANKS

  2. Glenda

    This is a very good point that many people overlook. People who worry all the time don’t seem to understand that our “resting” is a reflection of our trust in the One Who gives us His assurance of love. Thank you for this post!

    • Learning to rest while you work is an important aspect. I see that in almost every blog post by Stacey Ayars (Haiti). I took that phrase, rest while I work from something I read by Vance Havner years ago. It’s one of those things I can’t cite because I have no idea which book, sermon . . I just know I first saw it in print by him, probably 35 years ago! I’d love for that truth to stick on lots of other readers too! Thank YOU for the comment!

  3. A beautiful thought !! If only more of us could find the rest for our souls that Jesus tells us about in Matthew 11:29-30… Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. (KJV)

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

  4. Interesting thought, indeed. So, if on the seventh day God rested, what do you suppose He might have been up to?

Leave a Reply

