Work

Today is Labor Day. Every day except one day per week should be labor day. Labor is usually associated with pay; it should be equated with reward. That reward may come as a satisfaction of a closet of clean clothes, clean floors, a freshly cut lawn, a swept garage or driveway.

Work is something we GET to do; it is not something we HAVE to do. If you don’t have a job–create one! One of the things mothers say is “Find something to do.” That saying is good for a lifetime.

So, today, if you are bemoaning the fact that you don’t have a job (meaning a job with monetary pay) find something that you can help someone else do. Volunteer. For example, last October I was raking leaves when a little fellow, about nine years old came to my yard and asked if he could help me rake leaves. Sure, I happily replied. I asked him if his mother knew where he was, and of course, she didn’t, so I sent him home to ask first. He came back with a big grin and a rake. I warned him I didn’t have any money to pay him for his work and he replied, “Oh ma’am, I’m giving you my work.” He was a good little worker and we talked, laughed, and had a good time until his mother called from the driveway for him to come to supper.

Ecclesiastes 9:10 exhorts: “Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might; for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave wither thou goest.” Solomon was direct. God’s Word is direct in this issue. I am just telling you like it is.

It seems as if politicians are promoting a culture in which work is a terribly difficult thing to accomplish and one must have a college education. Really? My little helper last fall was in the fourth grade and had a heart full of compassion. That, my readers, is what we need. Labor today. Labor in love. Labor is noble and rewarding.

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    This is SO true! While my chores are of the homespun variety these days, I still owe God my best efforts. I think there is too much emphasis on the monetary reward without regard for the satisfaction of a job well done. Oh, I know that money is required if we are to pay the bills and provide for families, but there is nothing wrong with flipping burgers or mopping floors, as long as it is done with joy and gratitude. The passage that states “God loveth a cheerful giver” refers to more than just money. If we give Him our time, energy, and gratitude, He will provide everything else we need. Thank you for bringing this to our attention today!

Leave a Reply

