Memories

“Let me get the camera. . .”

We try to capture the moment that a memory is made. A few days ago I took a trip and captured memorable moments with people I love. The pictures will help me recall the good time we enjoyed.

This week my three-year-old granddaughter and I baked cookies together. I snapped a couple of pictures for the memory.

Moses did not have a digital camera. Just think of what his photo album would contain. A page of crossing the Red Sea, a memorable picture of the tablets of stone, and oh yes, water out of the rock!

Although the camera was not used then, Israel’s oral history captured those memories. They are repeated through the Bible narrative again and again. “When the Lord brought you out of Egypt. . .” is used 54 times according to e-sword and other variants are sprinkled throughout the books of history, in the Psalms, by the Prophets reminders, and with Peter’s opening sermon in Acts at the establishment of the local church. The oft repeated phrase reminded them of the All-Powerful God who enabled the followers of Jehovah to cross a sea on dry ground.

Next time you reach for your camera to capture a memory; please also remember the Mighty God and think back on how graciously, mercifully He has guided you.

Today I heard the pastor, Allister Beg, giving out Biblical content, then stopped and said, “There are really only two things we need to know: I am a great sinner, and Jesus is a great Savior.” What a wonderful memory is captured in my heart the day I confessed my sin, and Jesus became my Savior. Do you remember the time you received Jesus as your Savior?

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, yes, I remember that evening very well!! You see, I had the advantage of being brought up in a Christian home, and I didn’t know that there was any other way to live, so being a sinner had not really occurred to me. My parents asked our pastor to visit one Thursday night, and he explained from Ephesians 2:8-9 that all my “good upbringing” would not do me any good unless I had a personal relationship with Christ. I can still picture myself sitting in that old, overstuffed brown chair while Bro. Marcus Cardwell pointed those facts out to me, and that is a memory that I do not believe will ever fade! Praise God for His care for all of us, even if we do not think we need it! 🙂

  2. For me, that moment was 48 years ago. I was visiting a little Baptist church in Tucson, Arizona, and the preacher was teaching from the book of Nehemiah. He was saying that Nehemiah had a job to do for God – and I sat there wondering if I had a job to do for God. Suddenly I realized that if God did have a job for me I would never know what it was, because I didn’t know God. As Pastor Dick Buck finished that sermon, repeating again that Jesus had died for my sins so that I could know God, I realized that I was a sinner and Jesus had provided the way for me to get my sins out of the way, so that I could know Him. I remember sitting in that church that morning and talking to Jesus. I thanked Him for dyng for me, and told Him I was sorry I didn’t have anything I could give Him in return…but that if He wanted the whole rest of my life, He could have it. He took me up on it. 🙂

    • What a pleasure it is for me to know you Kathleen, and your fine Bible teaching ability.

Leave a Reply

