Time–God’s prospective

How much? How many? How long do I have? Set the timer! The 15-minute meal. The four-minute mile. The 45 minute workout. And on and on and on. . .

From timed tests and drills to nine innings in a baseball game, we are time adjusted people. Deadlines are usually productive. Production is not everything. Manufacturing may turn out a great number of products; yet, the handmade product is superior because of painstaking care.

For instance, one can go to a local big box store and purchase a hair bow made in China. It is plain. The clips fail to grip the hair correctly. It does the job of decorating a hairdo. The alternatives are two: learn to make hairbows yourself, or find someone who makes bows handmade and with unique design.

God’s Word declares that each of us is made by God, His workmanship. (Ephesians 2:10) “For we are God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” God doesn’t make junk. You, me, we are God’s handiwork. It takes time and patience to make a masterpiece.

Now, time is no big thing to God. God is not a slave to a clock. God has all eternity at His disposal.

I do have a point. It is coming.

Are we so time driven that we put God on a time schedule? You say, “That is ridiculous!” Wait. I hear Christians do that all the time (oops, there’s that word). “If such and such doesn’t happen by thus and thus then I am going to do this or that.” That might be man’s way, but I beg to say, it is not God’s way. Wait. Wait longer. Wait some more.

Next time you are ready to dive into the unknown made of your own liking, remember how long Abraham waited for Isaac. Remember that David fled for a total of nine years from one place to another just to survive the outrage of King Saul’s jealousy. God will work His way for us in His time. There is no need to set an alarm clock for God.

I searched in vain for the lyrics to the song, “God’s Clock” and if any of my readers know the lyrics, please comment with them!

If you are interested in handmade hairbows check out my daughter’s business at:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/LizzyBugsBowtique?ref=search_shop_redirect

5 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Well, I’m afraid you have stumped me with that song. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it, but after googling it and finding the biography of the author, I am quite intrigued and will be on the lookout for books by her. It seems that physical afflictions will either draw us closer to God or drive us away from Him, and she seemed to be drawn to Him, making her work very effective in the lives of others. We definitely need to learn to wait when God is working things out for us, and even in simple things like waiting for a table at a restaurant, that waiting is teaching us something important or preventing some worse fate. We really do need to wait for Him to work out His plan for every little aspect of our lives!

  2. You can see how far behind I am 😦
    The first line of the song is “I set my life by God’s great clock, His time is always right. . .”
    The chorus starts with “God’s time, ticktock, is right ticktock, He knows what’s best for me”
    And that’s all I’ve got 🙂

  3. Louise

    I set my life to Gods great clock, His time is always right. He times the wind, the rain the snow, He times the day and night.
    Gods time (tick tock) is right (tick tock)
    He’s never fast or slow, he plans a perfect day for those who seek to know His will.

    That’s all I remember but I know there is one more verse.

    • Kelly

      Verse 1:
      I set my life by God’s great clock,
      His time is always right;
      He times the wind, the rain, the snow,
      He times the day and night.

      Verse 2:
      God times the winter and the spring;
      The summer and the fall;
      The sun and moon and stars are His,
      His hand rules over all.

      Verse 3:
      God times the blossom on the bough,
      The flight of bird and bee;
      How safely I may trust His love
      To choose what’s best for me.

      Verse 4:
      I set my life by God’s great clock,
      He’s never fast or slow,
      He plans a perfect day for those,
      Who seek His will to know.

      Chorus:
      God’s time (tick tock) is right (tick tock) ,
      There’s none so wise as He;
      His hand upholds the whole wide world,
      He knows what’s best for me.

      -E. Margaret Clarkson

      • Thank you ever so much! I never did find all those words–til now!

Leave a Reply

