Risk vs Security

Call me cautious. Falling is not something on which I do not take a chance. When and if the time comes that the family says I need a cane, I will go cane shopping.

There is this silly riddle making its way around Facebook. I’ve seen it. I’ve been challenged. I have not yet surrendered to a giraffe face. That is because I do not take risks. So many of my friends now have giraffe faces that I have to read the names beside the profile to see who is posting.

My face is mine. It is going to stay that way, and maybe in a few days someone will leak the answer to the riddle.

Life is full of risks. We risk our money. We risk our lives when we drive. We are at risk when we buy fresh produce. There is one place I have no absolute risk. Eternity. Not me. I can be sure of an eternal home with God in Heaven.

The Bible says in I John 5:11-12 “and this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in His Son. He that hath the Son, hath life; he that hath not the Son of God, hath not life. These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye might know that ye have eternal life and that ye might believe on the name of the Son of God.”

There is no risk in believing that Jesus has done as He has promised.

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Praise God for His perfect plan and promises! I have also seen that silly riddle and have not changed my profile pic to that of a giraffe. I have seen some “explanations” for the “correct” answer, and have also read some of the comments on those explanations, and the answer seems to be that there really is no correct answer! I’m so thankful that God has left no uncertainty in His Word, and we can depend on everything He says to us!

    • The giraffe thing: please don’t tell me there is no correct answer! My hope that is in three days the answer will leak out. Carrie Brooks indicated today that the Chicago Tribune posted the correct answer. This has everyone all aflutter when actually, what should really concern us is eternity.

  2. Glenda

    Well, there are many who say that the first thing to open would be your eyes, while others argue that the eyes would already be open or you would not be able to tell who was at the door, therefore, the door must be the first thing to open. I truly don’t know what answer the originator was going for, and I agree with you that we concentrate too heavily on things that are of no eternal significance. The answer to this riddle is not going to lengthen or shorten my life, one way or another!

  3. I’m not a risk taker on that one either. When I began using a cane several years ago, it was an adjustment (more mentally than anything else) and then one day I answered the door. It was a neighbor getting rid of 2 of his canes, so now I have 3… 😀 . Take care!

Leave a Reply

