Ping!

Making apple butter reminded me of that splendid time when Christ will come the second time and take Believers out of this sin-darkened world.

I became the owner of a large quantity of apples this past week and I hate for things to go to waste, so apple butter was in order! Here’s what I did:

Peeled, cored, and sliced 6 quarts of apples. Put some baking spray in the bottom of my large roaster pan, dumped in the apples and put about a cup of water on them, and slid them in a 275° oven and let them bake into tender, mushy pieces.

In about an hour, the apples were done and to break large pieces, I used my potato masher. Then I added, 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 T of cinnamon, and 1 1In about an hour, the apples were done and to break large pieces, I used my potato masher. Then I added, 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 T of cinnamon, and 1 ½ tsp of cloves, ½ tsp allspice, and a sprinkle of nutmeg. Mix that all together and put this back in the oven, with the cover on, and let the spices blend into the apple mixture. After an hour I tasted to see if the taste was right. I added a little e more cinnamon and cloves but some might not want it to taste stronger. It baked another hour and by that time, the mixture had cooked down to apple butter consistency.

In the last half hour, I sterilized six pint jars and sealing lids. When the consistency pleased me, I packed the jars quickly, put on the seals, and set aside to wait for the musical sound of “ping” indicating that the jar had successfully sealed. I had a yield this time of 5 pints, which is exactly what I wanted for Christmas give always!

It is the “ping” that set my mind to memories, and a reminder that the sound we all should be anticipating is the trumpet! I have been humming and singing the opening lines of “When the Roll is Called up Yonder” ever since.

Every day our hearts should be listening for the trump of the Lord.

My good friend, Katie, introduced me to the oven method of apple butter and her apple butter is always so very very very good!

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    This does sound very good, but I would not have wanted the job of peeling all those apples! Yes, we must keep listening for that trumpet, and I surely think it will sound soon. Just watching, waiting, and working till He comes!

  2. I can almost smell the apple butter. . . . .and I’m listening for the trumpet!

Leave a Reply

