Resolve

To my readers: this is a few words longer than I usually write. Still, it should not take you more than three minutes to read. It may help you more than you anticipate. “Faithful is He that calleth you Who also will do it.” I Thessalonians 5:24

It is that time of year when people make a resolve to change things in the coming year. January 1 of each year begins a surge of advertising weight-loss methods, for instance. Some people make a resolve to stop biting their fingernails, or to save money. By January 31 many of those resolutions are tossed aside in failed attempts.

Due to such failure, many people have given up resolving anything. That’s sad.

James H. Fillmore, Sr. in 1896 wrote a stanza and chorus to help people keep their resolve. The lilting melody sticks in the mind of the singers, and was meant to give credence to the promises made, particularly promises made to adhere to Biblical principles. He wrote it for the purpose of use in a national convention, held in San Francisco called, Christian Endeavor. Fillmore lived in Cincinnati, OH, so he taught the song on the train traveling to the convention.

Once the convention ended, he asked one of the gentlemen working in his music publishing company to fill out more stanzas for a songbook: The Praise Hymnal. Palmer Hartsough added five verses to the song we sing in churches yet today. “I am Resolved” My guess is that we do not sing it often enough! This is a song that definitely should be sung with purpose.

I am resolved, no longer to linger, Charmed by the world’s delight, Things that are higher, things that are nobler, These have allured my sight.

(Chorus) I will hasten to him, hasten so glad and free; Jesus, greatest, highest, I will come to Thee.

The fifth verse is a plea to those around you:
I am resolved, and who will go with me? Come friend without delay, Taught by the Bible, Led by the Spirit, We’ll walk the Heavenly way!

Last year I was resolved to do one thing to enhance my spiritual walk and one thing just for the doing of it for accomplishment. I met both goals, but it was only because I had resolve! I selected a reading plan to follow to read through my Bible in a year. My just for fun resolve was to make a batch of sourdough starter last a whole year without having to throw it out because it spoiled. Mission Accomplished.

Along the way, I also found that my digestive system likes sourdough! Yes, I am also turning right around and starting in Genesis again. Now, the sourdough, well, it may not make it a second year, but then, one never knows. This year I am resolved to keep scrapbooking with frequency until I have my family tree done. It won’t be beautifully done, but at least my grandchildren will know where to go to find out about their family roots.

So, what are you resolved to do this coming year? If you make a long list, you won’t accomplish them all. Don’t bite off more than you can chew. Please do resolve something! Above all else, resolve to follow the Savior.

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    First, congratulations on meeting your goals for 2013! I’m sure you have learned MUCH from your Bible study and have enjoyed the good things from the oven because of that sourdough starter! Now, my resolution for the past few years has been the same, and I do not plan to change it this year. I have been all through the weight loss thing, and I have read the entire Bible through so many times that I’ve lost count. I have resolved to make a great effort to find a way to be a blessing to someone each day. That might sound simple, but when a person is retired and has little reason to leave the house, it becomes more challenging. Fortunately, there are the social media outlets, and I have found that I’m always able to say something uplifting to somebody each day, even if I don’t see them in person. It always makes ME feel better when someone comments that they have been blessed or encouraged, so it’s a win-win for me. Happy 2014, Karyl, and I hope you will enjoy all you do as you also bless others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

