“You are an angel!”

It is January. If a person lives in the Midwest, that person will be prepared when December turns to January, and on in February, sometimes even in March, with sidewalk salt, a sturdy snow shovel, and a supply of non-perishable food. If a person does not want to do that, he then saves up enough money to move to Florida or some other warm spot for three months.

Since I don’t go to a warmer location in the winter, I fall into the first category. Yes, I have salt, a shovel, an electric blanket, a good supply of books, and some non-perishable food. We had several inches of snow/ice mix this past weekend. Over the years I have learned to keep my steps swept off during a snow storm and to even shovel as quickly as I can my short driveway.

The driveway would not be such a chore if the snowplows did not stack excess snow where the drive joins the street. While the temperatures was still in the 30’s, I donned my pretty, serviceable pink boots (made by Croc™) and set out to clean my driveway before it became a slab of ice. Just as I was nearing the bottom, a truck with a blade attachment turned the corner. He started to drive past, but backed up, motioned me to step aside, and with one swoop of his blade cleaned the whole bottom of the driveway free of the slosh. Could it be, I asked myself, an angel? A few minutes later when I was placing my shovel in a handy place beside my front door, he came back the other direction and waved.

It reminded me of an incident my daughter, a missionary in West Africa, told me. She was flying back to the U.S. for her grandmother’s funeral and bringing her baby with her. She was cumbered with luggage and making a plane change in a non-French, non-English airport when a kind couple came to her aid. With their bi-lingual skill they guided her and carried her luggage to her connecting flight. She expected to see them on the same flight, but they disappeared, she said, before she could properly thank them. Angels.

Hebrews 1:14 speaks of angels as “ministering spirits, sent forth to minister for them who shall be heirs of salvation.” and in both my case last night, and in my daughter’s case, those were ministering spirits. Angels are real. Angels are portrayed throughout the Bible.

When you help someone else, you are just still you, but indeed, you are being somewhat angelic at the time. Isn’t that a nice thought?

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    That is a very good thought, and I’m sure you’ve been an angel to many folks throughout your lifetime! I have had instances of people helping, then disappearing, and it is always wonderful to know that God cares enough to send what we need at just the right time! Thank you for bringing back some wonderful memories that strengthen my faith today. Stay warm!!! 🙂

  2. I believe with all my heart that God has sent angles on more than one ocassion to help me out of a bind. Why? I don’t know. But I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

