The Coloring Book

The posting today is by a guest who submitted this to me. It was both a blessing and also a challenge. Welcome, Alyson, as a guest contributor.

“Out with the old and in with the new.” I have heard that saying many times during my life, but it’s up to me to agree to believe. When I was at the young age of five, I remember sitting in my first grade classroom. One of my classmates wanted me to color with him. So, we pushed our desks together and the adventure began. We searched and searched through the book for just the right picture. As the pages turned, I noticed my classmate had not finished coloring most of the pictures and had definitely not stayed inside the lines. Since the pictures weren’t finished, I suggested we add some coloring touchups by redrawing the lines and coloring the area surrounding the picture. The pictures looked wonderful when we finished.
So that brings me to the question, why at age five did we decide to fix the unfinished pictures? Why not just move to the uncolored pages where we could have used our imagination by choosing our own colors, tracing the picture before we colored in the lines.
Some people might say we were OCD. Others may say just color the new pictures because the unpolished pictures really do not matter anyway. Remember it’s a coloring book for five year olds. Well to us, the coloring book was a Mona Lisa. I remember being very proud of our accomplishments and a huge smile on my classmate’s face. We did it!
Sometimes I wonder, how God feels about “Out with the old and in with the new?” What if He moved to a new person every time something went wrong? What if He viewed the flaws in people as unfixable? What if He just viewed us as invisible? What if we were just a page ripped from the coloring book and thrown in the garbage can?
We should be very thankful He views us all as His special design, created unto good works. Ephesians 2:10 verifies that! “For we are his workmanship created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.”

1 Comment

  1. Very nice application.

Leave a Reply

