Earl A. Entner

Over 22 years have passed since my sweet father-in-law went to Heaven. This afternoon I heard his voice. Yes, I did! At the encouragement of a nephew when Dad turned 80, he wrote down family history and memories. Later, with the use of a tape recorder he put his voice to those memories.

Remarkably, as I listened to his stories, many of which I recall his telling me in conversations over the years, today I heard something different. I heard a man of principled values. When he talked about his mother, his voice was filled with admiration and love. He genuinely admired that fact that she left the ease of city life in Chicago to travel and live in Saskatchewan, Canada where she and her husband homesteaded land and reared nine children. It was at her suggestion that they move so that their children would not be exposed to the sins of the city. That was back in 1907, the year Dad was born.

While Dad spoke well of his father who was willing to work very hard and many different skills in order to achieve, finally, a section and a half of land, Dad kept going back to the spiritual moorings of his mother’s life and labor of prayer. She bore the hardships of prairie life and homesteading in order to rear children who would love God. She did it largely by example for there was no regular Sunday service for them to attend. They were serviced by a circuit preacher. Ida Entner believed strongly that the man in the family should be the leader in every way so she never led in family prayer and Bible reading. She did it solely by example. Not until the children were mostly grown did Great-Gramdad lead in family Bible reading.

Her selfless life turned out all nine children who were not only born-again, but who also were cheerful Christian servants of God. Two sons, Earl and Charlie served God in full time ministry.

Two years ago I sent the tape Dad left behind to my son who made the tape into a compact disc for our immediate family. Having one of those days that I missed Dad, I just wanted to hear his voice. But I heard so much more.

It is true of Earl, as of his siblings: “Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them.” (Revelation 14:13)

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, what a wonderful gift he left for all those who followed him!! You are indeed blessed to be able to hear his voice, and I’m sure the rest of the family is just as blessed as you are. Thank you for sharing this with us, Karyl!

  2. I loved your story! We should all have a legacy to leave behind such as this along with the voice that can carry on in the future. It is truly blessed to hear the voice of that loved one. Take care! 🙂

  3. Thank you, ladies for your comments. Sometimes later this year it is now my goal to do something similar for my family. I am doing it in conjunction with the scrapbooking I am doing that has both my side and my husband’s side of the family for my children (3) and for the grandchildren (10). If it is not done soon, the ancestors will be lost to family history. It is possible for time to fly past when I get involved it it as I feel so blest at the hardworking people in our family history.

  4. They made a good trade to leave the city if it meant all their kids were faithful! Nothing wrong with the city, but it’s full of distractions to the real!

Leave a Reply

