Falls and Fat Lips

I don’t have a category called “everyday thinking” at random. If we will take time to observe, there is a life lesson in almost every day. Here’s one from personal experience.

We get lots of helpful materials at the local Active Adult Center. Groups come in and tell us what they have to offer. Nearly all of the materials handed out tell us that one in three senior citizens will experience a fall this year. Well, I joined the ranks last evening. I argue the fact, however, that anyone, any age, can fall on uneven pavement.

I don’t fly very well, it seems. The landing was a crash that sent me to the ER for stitches in my upper lip, a total of eight. You may add to the crash landing one pot of taco soup, and a broken tooth.

Stumbles happen to most of us. Sometimes, like mine here, are physical missteps. Sometimes the misstep causes injury to others. Misunderstandings, injured feelings, broken spirits can leave unseen damage when we use our tongues unwisely. While those injuries are caused by rash behaviors, those injuries can have long lasting handicaps.

So my advice: step cautiously; speak carefully.

While for all practical purposes, it seems as if I was not careful enough, I am also reminded this morning when the Holy Spirit used His Word to whisper to me, “the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord and He delighteth in his way.” Psalm 37:23. God sees the sparrow fall; He saw my fall, (and my fat lip) so all is well. The Words of Jesus tell me, “Ye are of more value than many sparrows.” That truth makes me smile, at least inside. Fat lips don’t smile very well!

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    Well, I have already mentioned on other posts that I am praying that you’ll have a quick recovery, so I won’t repeat that here. I do believe that everything happens for a good reason, whether we see it immediately or not, and I KNOW that you will accomplish much while you are nursing your fat lip! Sometimes, we just have to rest in His promises and take the time to see what He wants us to do while we are resting in Him. Take care of yourself, and you are very correct that ANYbody can fall on uneven pavement! Some of us can even fall over our own feet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

