Remember Me?

More often than I want to admit, I meet people whom I knew twenty years ago or more and instead of introducing themselves in a gracious way, they say, “Remember me?” I weakly reply, “You look familiar but. . .” Now, some people just don’t change with age and if I taught them for a number of years, I do remember them. Others, not so much.

Readers, I have a request. Introduce yourself to long ago acquaintances by saying, “You might not remember me, but I . . .” and let the person graciously reply with, “Oh, I do remember!” It is just good manners.

One way to remember people is to pray for them regularly. At least their name is before you, and it reminds you of times you experienced with them. Take an interest in people. The more you know about a person’s likes and dislikes, the more apt you are to remember them, even if years pass between your meetings.

One thing I know for sure, Jesus knows me. He has my best interests in mind. He knows me better than I know myself. I will never have to walk into His presence and ask, “Remember me?”

In my old, old Scofield Bible I have this little rhyme written that someone quoted in some class or chapel:

He knows, He loves, He cares,
Nothing this truth can dim,
He gives the very best to those,
Who leave the choice to Him.

You may be wondering, however, if you really can have that kind of relationship. Of course you can. Jesus is as near as calling on His name. He is waiting to hear from you. It has now been 56 years ago since I had my first conversation with Jesus. He was there then when I called on His name, confessed that I was a sinner, and accepted His gift of salvation. In simple faith, you can do the same. Ephesians 2:8-9 give the directive: “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God; not of works, lest any man should boast.” He knows you now, He will remember you always.

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for this, Karyl! That Scripture from Ephesians is the exact passage that my pastor used, way back in March of 1956, to lead me to Christ. I had been brought up in a Christian home, so I knew no other way of life other than church every time the doors were open, but those words just pointed out to me that it was not by my regular, faithful attendance in church, or my family’s dedication to daily family devotions, that I could expect salvation from my sins. I am SO thankful that my Heavenly Father knows me better than I know myself, and He still loves me, in spite of myself!

  2. This is a very true & inspiring article. Don’t know why I’ve just found it, but glad I did.

  3. I am glad you not only found it, but also communicated with me. I have slowed way down on posting things because I have already covered so many subjects and most of the time I have readers on a daily basis whether I post anything new or not. Why you found something from two and a half years ago is interesting. We don’t know the reasons, but God does and that’s enough for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

