What in the World is Going On?

My street is usually just a normal flow of traffic. It is a city street in a small city. Early in the morning and in early evening it is common to see people walking, running, jogging, dog-walking, and biking. For a short stretch, there are no sidewalks and everyone uses the street safely. Running parallel to my street, however, is a State Road.

So this morning I found my quiet street unusually noisy. Semi-trucks are navigating this narrow street turning left and holding up unusually heavy traffic. “What in the world. . .” I think when I hear the noise of screeching brakes and roaring engines of trucks! Standing at my window I can’t quit watching and I am not alone. Foot traffic has also slowed and diverted its route. I suppose that there has been an accident on the State Road and the trucks, vans, cars, and service vehicles are being rerouted.

This is for about a half hour. What will it be like when Christ returns in the sky to snatch the living and dead Christians away? “In a moment. . .” the Apostle Paul states in I Corinthians 15:52. One amazing moment! The rerouted traffic on my corner is nothing compared to what that moment in time will be like. Everything will change in one single moment.

Now you have something on which to think. I would help you with an outline, but you can do it on your own. A crown of righteousness awaits those who love Christ’s appearing. II Timothy 4:8 declares: “Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day, and not me only, but to all them also that love His appearing.”

As the morning light awakens our senses, or nightfall signals quiet slumber, keep in mind that the moment may be soon With John at the end of writing down the revelations given him, I repeat: “Even so, come, Lord Jesus.” Revelation 22:20

Leave a Reply

