June 15, 1215

Perhaps I am holding myself in grand esteem, but this afternoon upon thinking about that first Thanksgiving in 1621 I went back to 2012 and read some old weblogs. There is a series of seven blogs that concentrate on English history. I am amazed that I didn’t just call is quits that first year I wrote and published these blogs. I seldom received a “like” on them and very few comments. Undaunted by the nonapplause of men, I just forged forward. Today I am reblogging the first of those seven blogs. June 15, 1215, marks the beginning of American freedom. It is the birthdate of the Magna Carta.

The Shepherd's Presence

Today I read a facebook post from World Atlas regarding the history of the Magna Carta.  It was on June 15, 1215, that Barons in England posed the document on England’s King John that he could no longer live above the law.  Regretfully, Pope Innocent III told him he would not have to abide by it.  That’s how powerful the Pope was in those times.  (Admit it, the Pope is still very powerful.)

The oppression of the Church and the King of England led to persecutions beyond belief.  It was really what we would consider an awful time for Believing Christians.  If you want to read some hair-raising stuff, just study the lives of those who fled from England during that time.  But, I digress.  My freedom, which I sometimes take so glibly, was purchased at the price of those who fled England.  Men who made their way to North…

View original post 244 more words

2 Comments

  1. “Just forged forward,” Isn’t that really what we always have to do? It’s what the early immigrants to America did. Good post. I love history.

  2. It is what we SHOULD do. Regretfully, the number of people who just give up or give in is increasing. I enjoy American history too and remembering the roots of our freedom is very important to me.

Leave a Reply

