One Click Away

James 1:19 “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath. . .” Interestingly, when I looked up the Greek word for wrath in this particular verse, it means to rationalize. In other words, here, irrational. A reason for this verse is coming in the following anecdote.

Confession time.

I enjoy playing one game of spider solitaire per day. Generally I am not a card playing person because of its association with gambling. In my curiosity one day I tried this game on my computer and liked the decision making involved and started playing just one game a day lest I become addicted. Then, I started keeping score and competing against myself. In 2014 I played 366 consecutive games in which I won (on the beginner level). So, on January 5 the decision to change to intermediate level became a challenge to me. I lost miserably, again, and again. Since it was no longer fun, I decided to return to the beginner level. A box popped up that gave me the choice of erasing all scores and in my disappointment, I chose “yes.” Regretfully, that also erased all of my high scores and consecutive wins from all previous games! “No, No, No” I silently, solemnly wept. It was a choice that could not be reversed.

So it is with many of the choices we hastily make. I believe the idiom is, “Marry in haste and repent at leisure” or something like that. Many decisions we make in haste or disappointment, anger, or depression have the same outcomes of undeniable regret. We raise our voices in anger, and live in the regret of those moments of unchecked tongue. We might apologize even in remorse, but the angry words have done their damage. It cannot be undone.

Money decisions can be made in haste and the credit card bills come every month to remind us of that poor choice. We look at the envelope bearing the bill and say to ourselves, “I should not have done that.”

So, I am now on game 6 in consecutive wins. I’ll be careful about those check boxes! We are all just one click away from making decisions that can be life changing. Take your time before you speak, spend, or enter a door. One click can equal regret far more life-changing than my innocent computer game.

In haste, we can become irrational.

Leave a Reply

