Little Green Bugs with Red Eyes

After a week of eventful stomach and intestinal virus “bugs” in the house, my daughter described the germs as “little green bugs with red eyes” jumping on the beds, flying into hair, splashing in the shower, and laughing with wicked peals.

While they were under siege with three out of four children coming down with this one at a time, I was laid up with the repiartory disorder commonly called the flu. I don’t know if my bugs were green, but one thing for certain, they were having a heyday at my house.

Debby and I both used the same method of attack: Lysol®, hand sanitizer, and fresh air. I hope they are gone. I don’t wish their party on anyone.

Now, if only we would look at sin the same way. Visualize that temptation to sin as little green bugs with bulging red eyes accompanied with shrill, taunting laughter. All too often sin is disguised as a pet; it is something to be coddled and caressed! The well-used illustration of identifying sin the same as a shirt still is a good illustration. If it is doubtful, it is dirty.

The Apostle Paul described it this way: “All things are lawful unto me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me but I will not be brought under the power of any.” (I Corinthians 6:12) Those things that are not expedient sometimes have a power of their own. Addictive things that drive a wedge of sin between me and my relationship with God are like those little green bugs with red eyes! Whether it be music, anger, appetite, or immodest dress—you identify it for yourself—it is sin and should be purged out.

Proverbs 14:34 tells us that “righteousness exalteth a nation, but sin is a reproach to any people. Beware of those little green bugs with red eyes!

Leave a Reply

