Made to Crave: Satisfying your Deepest Desires with God, not Food

By Lysa Terkeurst, Zondervan, 2010. 225 pages, Available on Amazon new, used, or Kindle editions.

Lysa Terkeurst is president of Proverbs 31 ministries and no stranger to book titles. While many of her books deal with subjects for younger women, I had not picked up any of the titles although I had several recommend Unglued to me. Out of curiosity I picked up Made to Crave and Terkeurst’s writing style was easy to read but also profound. She is transparent and oh so authentic!

The book has 19 chapters with titles such as “Friends Don’t Let Friends Eat without Thinking,” “I’m not defined by the Numbers,” “But Exercise Makes Me Want to Cry,” and “Why Diet’s don’t Work.” My favorite chapter in the book is “The Very Next Choice we Make.” Since this book is something I needed to meet my constant struggle with weight loss, I read the first twelve chapters rapidly. Then one thing after another seemed to stop me from coming back to that bookmarked place. Well, confession is, I had lots to think about in those first 12 chapters and felt a bit overwhelmed to go on! Slowly, I moved on but once I got to chapter 17 the last three chapters were a breeze.

My advice is: do not skip any of the chapters and read them in order or the book will not be the help you need. Terkeurst sometimes labors a point to death and I did skim here and there thinking, “Oh, I get it, let’s move on.” The book is written with reflective questions at the end of each chapter, and frankly, I skipped most of those too because they are written in for group study purposes.

Yes! I highly recommend this book. It has depth in the three most needy areas of anyone struggling with weight loss: physical, emotional, and spiritual needs. My only negative comment would be the use of so many different versions of the Bible. She does not always identify the version and my natural propensity is to know the Scripture content based on translation. Since she often uses the English Standard Version, and New King James, and the King James, I made it through and by the end of the book, it just did not bother me at all.

I have the Kindle version and found myself highlighting as I read so that I can go back and read my notes when (not if, when) I get tripped up or stalled. This is a book you will want to read, and reread, and never loan or give away to anyone else.

Leave a Reply

