Essential Oils for Beginners–a book review

This book is a compilation of material gleaned from at least three other books mentioned: The Complete Book of Essential Oils, by Valerie Worwood; Rosemary Gladstar’s Medicinal Herbs, by Rosemary Gladstone; and The Fragrant Mind: Aromatherapy for Personality, Mind, Mood, and Emotion, by Valerie Worwood. The book is published by Althea Press, Berkley, CA ©2013 248 pages in length.

Since my venture into the use of essential oils about a year ago, this book has been a handy guide. I have also borrowed books from the public library on similar subjects and the information agrees from one book to the other so I think I can use and recommend the book with confidence. Chapter four in the book breaks down most of the essential oils commonly used today and makes it simple to understand. (If you know my ways, you know that I like simple.) To make the book even more simple to use, the lists are all in alpha order.

With all of the parties and money making schemes using essential oils, I did not dive in blindly to the use of hocus pocus medicine. Although my friends call my pain mixture from essential oils a magic potion, I have found the simple mixtures to be the best remedies. One need not buy the expensive pre-mixed potions sold in little bitty bottles from the trendy essential oil retailers. Stay simple.

I also found valuable information in the pages of this book regarding essential oils and my own body’s DNA. Essential oil use is not a “one size fits all.” Knowing my body’s chemistry and reaction to some of these oils is very important. Some oils raise blood pressure, for instance. With each profile of the essential oils listed are precautions and I found that very useful to personalize my own usage.

I give this handy book a thumbs up for practicality. Affordability is also a plus as I recall it was a mere $3.99 for my Kindle®. Before you dash into believing everything your massage therapist or friend, or neighbor tells you, get this handy guide. It will advise you truthfully and carefully if you allow it to do so.

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for this, Karyl. I, too, like to keep things simple with my oils. I like Worwood’s book, too. She does give some more complex recipes for some things, but most of it is just simple single-use or combinations. Fascinating field of study and application.

Leave a Reply

