Pastors and Politics, a good Question

If your pastor exemplifies Isaiah, Jeremiah, and the prophets that took on moral decay, I am happy for you. It just seems rare these days to find a church where the pastor is well equipped to confront the culture of the day. This blog I am sharing may answer the reasons, and give you the courage to confront your pastor on the issue.

http://www.monicaboyer.com/8-reasons-why-your-pastor-will-not-engage-the-culture-or-politics/

I usually deal with the nitty gritty of living everyday in the Presence of Jesus, our Good Shepherd and am easy to read, not long, and not tedius. This article grabbed me by the neck and demanded to be spread out to any of my readers who may be seeking answers in this area. We are in trouble as a nation because our clergy has been derelict in their duty to prompt their congregations to live morally in a corrupt world.

4 Comments

  1. I read the article over and appreciate the analysis made, the reasons why Christians today aren’t being fed “solid food” from the Scriptures as they ought to be. Perhaps I’m misunderstanding this woman’s position, but I believe the reason our church’s pastors aren’t getting involved in fixing up this secular society is because God hasn’t called them to do so. Jesus reproved the religious leaders of His day for their inconsistencies — He would today, too — but He didn’t try to fix the government or society. He taught those who came to hear Him, as pastors are called to do today.

    You said, “We are in trouble as a nation because our clergy has been derelict in their duty to prompt their congregations to live morally in a corrupt world.”

    Churches today may be in trouble for this very reason, and the list of woes in the post you’ve linked is valid insofar as they apply to Christian churches. Paid pastors preaching what the people pay to hear, etc. But the nation (ANY nation) is “in trouble” because any country is a secular state with a secular government. No country can ever be called Christian unless every leader and every citizen is a committed follower of Jesus Christ.

    There was a time in the UK & North America when evangelical Christian principles were embraced and taught publicly. Today they are not. Sad. But there was never a time in the history (outside the unique state of Old Testament Israel) when any nation was committed to God’s will. (?And even they fell away by times.) Throughout history some politicians in various countries have professed Christianity and tried to exert a Christian influence, but that doesn’t make the government itself Christian.

    The reason I’m stating this so definitely is that I feel US evangelicals have gotten off-course over the years, thinking Christianizing the government or society is the answer to social woes. It never will be. I think if we could all accept that our society never will be Christian, we could get back on a better footing as to what our role is in our times. Evangelicals tend to be wringing their hands about the deplorable state of things, calling for change through more godly laws, and missing the one little candle they could be lighting.

    Works of charity, yes. Working wherever possible to improve the lot of our fellow man, yes. But we don’t expect our pastors to get involved in politics or grand-scale social reform. Speaking out from the pulpit about sin and its consequences, yes. Pastoral work, yes. But like Jesus, they are here to share the Good News of Salvation with any and all who will hear them.

    Please pardon my long-winded comment, but I do feel so many Christians are barking up the wrong tree.

  2. Point taken and understood. I have had my dose of both directions. One pastor always talking about our positions in the U.S. politically. Then I changed churches and have the opposite. It is all about balance. It is all about preaching and teaching the WHOLE counsel of the Word of God. One by one we are the make up of a nation and our influence touches those around us; thus, it is the Believer’s responsibility to shine in this world of darkness and at the same time, make sure we are politically active steering our influence in the best direction. At least, for me, I cannot be silent on moral issues.

    • Thanks for replying to my comment. I wrote another comment, but decided to work on it and post it on my own blog rather than here. But I’m curious. You say you can’t be silent on moral issues. So what exactly do you do about them, and which ones?

  3. If an issue is Biblical, I’ll address it. It really is a simple as that. I do stick to the Bible. This morning I started reading the book of Romans and I see that Paul was not shy about listing a whole long list of moral issues. We do need to be careful to not use preference instead of a genuine Biblical standard. I am usually careful to also insert, “in my opinion” if the issue is something not directly stated in the Bible. I teach three different groups each week, but use the same basic materials and adjust to that particular group. It takes a strong reliance on the Holy Spirit to know what to say and when to say it. It also takes a fairly good knowledge of the Scriptures to support points. I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

