Help! Reception is Gone!

After three calls in one week, Dish Satellite finally scheduled an appointment for a technical representative to visit my property for an evaluation and correction.  Dish also credited my account for the several days that my television was not receiving local reception. I didn’t ask for that; they volunteered.  Good company.

During the course of many high winds and rain downpours, the satellite, I am told had moved.  The receipt/statement reads that the work done was repoint dish.   The fellow carried a ladder to the roof, he anchored some bolts that had come loose, and it is decidedly pointing a different direction just from my naked eye observation.  The signal is strong and even in rainfall last week, I did not lose reception.

It was not just one powerful storm that moved that dish.  It was many storms over the course of seven years that ever so gradually pushed the dish off course.  Little by little, a fraction of an inch at a time and finally the local signal was lost entirely.  So it is with me.  It is just fractions of time that causes me to lose sight of eternal things.  It is a little here, a little there, and it is an inch away from truth.  Then a little more here and little more there and it happens.  My mind is swayed by the culture of the day instead of the truth of God’s Word.  When the signal is in complete loss, I say, “Wait, No.  When did this happen?”  Listening to music that tends to take our focus off God and His ways, reading too much fiction, wasting time, playing too many computer games, and poof—the signal is weak or completely gone.

Ah, but it can be repointed!  Listen to the right stuff, read the good stuff, use the time allotted to you wisely, and that signal will be working in fine tune once again. Personal revival has taken place. The Apostle Paul gave the Ephesian believers serious advice in the imperative sentences:  “See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” (Ephesians 5:15-16)  Walk very carefully, as in living carefully, not as a foolish person, but as a wise person.  Evil surrounds us and would capture even our hearts if we do not stand guard over our attitudes and actions.

Repoint today if that is necessary.  Look in the mirror and give yourself a good scolding.  Repoint.

1 Comment

  1. Excellent post, Karyl. I’m cleaning up my inbox–again–and just found this one. I usually try to read your stuff right away, but missed this, and I think it was a God-thing. I needed to be repointed today.

Leave a Reply

