Hank, Honey, and MisterTipster

Hank, as those of you who have read my blogs from the beginning, is my first hamster.  Hank succumbed to something or another and left me for another place.  In a few weeks, Honey Hamster took up residence.  Hank and Honey were very different in personality.  Just about three weeks ago Honey died of old age that was complicated by a tumor on his hind leg.

Enter Mister Tipster.  He, like Hank, is black.  The pet shop told me he is a breed called “Black Bear.”  While he acts a great deal like Hank acted, he is another unique guy.  All four feet are white, much like a panda hamster.  His body has a different shape and his appetite is voracious!  The appetite is probably due to his long hours of running on the hamster wheel.

There is one element that all three hamsters have in common:  trust.  Rather, I should say, mistrust!  It takes time and patience to build trust in a relationship.  Mister Tipster is not unlike his counterparts in not trusting me yet.  In time, he will be able to sit in the chair with me and adventure on my desk but that will be awhile.

Do you remember when you first heard the name Jesus?  I was nine years old before I heard of Jesus other than at Christmas in the Nativity scenes in church yards and window displays in town.  When my Vacation Bible School teacher invited me to trust Jesus as my Saviour, I backed away.  When I was almost 13 my mother decided it was time for me to know about Jesus and took me to classes at a church where I learned the answers to catechism questions.  Now I knew more and my curiosity was piqued.  My grandfather read in his Bible every day so I asked him some questions and he encouraged Bible memory verses.  By the time I was 16 and a school friend invited me to a youth rally I was ready.  Soon after that on a quiet Sunday afternoon, I opened my heart to Jesus and trusted Him, and Him alone for everything and anything in the future.  That day I was born again.

It was a gradual process for me to trust Jesus.  Maybe that is why I understand the gradual process of having my little four-ounce pets trust me to pick them up once they start to depend on me. Mister Tipster will eventually even climb into my cupped hand and know he is safe.

Hamster or human, trust comes quietly with confidence.  Only when we know the Lord will be “trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not unto your own understanding.  In all your ways, acknowledge Him [the Lord] and He will bring it [life’s decisions] to pass.”  Proverbs 3:5-6

If you have never trusted Jesus for your eternal future, please contact me by email, and I will be happy to answer your questions.  Trusting is a sweet thing.  Now my heart is singing, “Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus. . .”

2 Comments

  1. Beautiful picture, Karyl. Climbing into God’s cupped hand and knwoing you are safe. Love that.

Leave a Reply

