Birthdays

My oldest grandchild turned twenty this weekend.  That made me do some deep thinking.  That means I have been a grandparent for twenty years!  Most days I just keep plodding along doing what I think is best for that day.  I haven’t worked a “regular” job now for ten years so most of my days are made up of my own choosing rather than a time clock.

The celebration of time markers, like birthdays and anniversaries, always give me pause.  It is good for us to just stand still for a brief time and look back, and then forward.  I am left with one sure thing:  the title of this blog site, “The Shepherd’s Presence” is apt.  There is no better place to be than beside my Savior, the Good Shepherd, Jesus.

I placed my faith in Jesus in January of 1960.  There was no inkling of excitement but rather a peace that flowed over me.  Fifty-six years ago that peace came to me, and only when I left the peace moments here and there have I known anything but that deeply settled peace that comes from knowing the stability of faith in God.

We all lapse now and then if we will admit it.  Worry creeps in.  Fear lurks in the corners of our minds.  The abiding presence of my Good Shepherds has always made Himself known.  The most important birthday of all of my remembrance was that day in cold January, 1960 when Jesus came to stay.

Reader, if you are searching for peace, confidence in eternity, run to Jesus.  He will save and He will stay.  You, too, can know the “peace that passes understanding.” (Philippians 4:7)  Struggle no longer.  Jesus paid the price for your redemption.  Placing your faith in Jesus is the very best decision you can make in your life.  The second birth is the best birth of all. John 3:6-7, “That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.  Marvel not that I say unto you, you must be born again.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

