Injections–Part One

Am I injected with Truth?

Do I hear the truth and respond, “Yes, but. . .”?

That thought filled my mind as I left the parking lot of my doctor’s office today.  About two weeks ago my eyes were injected with a clotting agent that keeps the macular degeneration stalled.  It is not one of the easiest things I have done every three months or so.  Research doctors have not yet come up with a drop we can administer ourselves.  It takes an injection.  I get one in each eye.

Today I was injected with an immunization that is supposed to protect me from pneumonia.  Parents see that their children receive immunizations to stave off measles, mumps, typhoid, tetanus, and a variety of other things.  If only we were so careful to take from God’s Word what will stave off the onslaughts of the world, the flesh, and the devil.  John, the apostle warns Believers this:  “Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world.  If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.

That answers a pertinent question.  Why is it so easy for Believing Christians to squabble?  Although it is a piercing answer, it is simply because the world is more important to them than the Heavenly Father.  What do we get easily annoyed, or offended?  Too much world; not enough Father.

Facing the world, the flesh, and the devil is a triple threat!  Far too often, we just blame everything on the Devil.  The fact is, because we do not exercise the love of the Father, as expressed in I John 2:15, our indulgences tend to be from the world values instead of eternal values.

The only remedy for these ongoing battles is to inject truth into our lives through a daily time of real devotion to God.  Sit at His feet, immerse the thirsty soul in the contents of God’s Word, allow the Holy Spirit to have control.

I am troubled by the anger and dismay of my countrymen over political upheaval.  I am even more dismayed with those to claim to be Christians are acting in the flesh instead of the Spirit.

I expect my arm will be a little sore later today.  It is part of the treatment.  We can also be certain that God will use His mighty Word to sometimes bruise us. It is His kindness keeping us close to Himself—yes, keeping us close, holding our hand, sweeping us into His everlasting arms.

Stay close to the Shepherd of the soul.  It is His protection.

–Part Two will be in a day or so.

Leave a Reply

