The Cuckoo Clock

It hung on the wall silent for fourteen months.  The weights did not budge and the pendulum hung motionless.  The door to the little cuckoo bird stood open and the silent bird sat on his perch.  Apparently something went wrong.  But what?  I called the clock repair shop in a nearby town and the lady encouraged me to investigate the location of a certain spring that sometimes catches and thus stops everything.  She kindly put my name on a waiting list and the shop would call when my name came up.  Few clock shops exist that repair cuckoo clocks.

The clock turned 43 years old last Christmas when my husband and I put our gifted monies into a common fund and finally had enough money to purchase the clock I so much wanted.  In spite of four moves over those years, the clock continued to chirp out the hours and half hour until that dreadful day 14 months ago.  Last Saturday I finally drummed up courage to take the clock down while we wait for our name to be the next on the list.  Upon handling the weights the cuckoo woke up, chirped out the remainder of the hour when he was silenced, and popped back in the house and closed the door!

The lady at the shop was right.  Something had been stuck and now was jarred loose.  I ask myself, “Why did I wait so long?”  Well, I can tell you.  I was fearful of doing even more damage by trying to repair it myself.  Leave it to the expert, I thought, was the safest remedy.

I bet you do the same, as I do, when it comes to giving out spiritual help.  We fear giving the wrong advice, or we fear being reprimanded by the “expert” that we did more damage than good.  Saturday I was reminded that the Word of God never does damage.  It does only good.  Hebrews 4:12 assures us that “The Word of God is quick and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”

When speaking with others and scripture comes to mind, do not be afraid to use it.  Leave the rest to God.  Don’t wait.  While the silent cuckoo clock could wait, souls cannot.  The opportunity you waste in hesitation may be the last opportunity that person has to hear the Word of God.

Eternity awaits.

Leave a Reply

