Wild Violets

Today the fellows from the lawn care company that sprays my lawn arrived.  Once again, they applied fertilizer and weed control.  The note on my bill they left at the door included this hand-written statement:  “. . .you do have a lot of wild violets and it may take multiple applications to completely clean them out.”

I am finally rid of the most obnoxious weeds and my grass is thin now but slowly filling in under the application of fertilizer.  If it would not eradicate my flowers, I’d love to see my flower beds sprayed with the mighty potion they apply.

Those little wild violets—for some reason, I don’t mind.  Their little purple happy faces are a sign of spring.  Granted, they do take up room that should be given over to luxuriant grass, but I sort of like them.  Oh, but I see something here!  Those little happy blooms are so much like the pet sins we all adore.  You know them:  the small acts of selfishness and expenditures on cute shoes we will wear twice a year, the snappy remark that was really rather mean, weak reasons for not sharing Christ, and on and on.  You get the idea.

What does it hurt, we ask ourselves.  A little indulgence, here, a smatter of happiness there, and soon we can have too many pet sins enticing away the growth of what is really valuable to us.

So, let the wild violets gradually wither away and the grass grow.  Those pet sins are difficult to purge, but if I persistently pour some potent scripture on them, they will wither too.  “Flee youthful lusts” Paul warned Timothy in II Timothy 2:22 and James warned new Believers in the early church, “Resist the devil and he will flee from you,” in James 4:7.  God’s Word is like the 3-way weed control that is listed on today’s bill.  Those pretty little wild violets will eventually leave. The grass will survive and thrive.  I will thrive too.

Today, choose a wild violet of yours and tell it that the end is near.

 

2 Comments

  1. We call them johnnie-jump-ups out here, and I like them, too. I have one little patch of them that I protect from the weed sprayer.

    Good application, Karyl, as always.

    • I grew up calling them johnny jump ups too. I had no idea they could be so invasive though. The sprayers also killed all the wild clover which I didn’t mind, but one has to decided if they want clover, or grass. I chose grass.

Leave a Reply

