Grilled Cheese

A grilled cheese sandwich sits before me. Have you ever noticed that one will find grilled cheese on the children’s menu.  What?  Adults like them too.  Last week I noticed on the Great Food Truck Race which currently airing on Foodnetwork has a food truck dedicated to all varieties of grilled cheese!  On the side of my sandwich sits a small bowl of canned peaches.   I also happen to like canned peaches better than fresh ones.  It could just be laziness.

My mother did not like my grilled cheese sandwiches.  She said they were too dry.  Once a week she made her own fat and salt laden version.  Once when we were visiting the doctor, he asked her a probing question in a very gentle way, “So, what have you been eating?”    She replied, very pointedly that she ate what I cooked for us except for one thing:  grilled cheese.  “Karyl, she said, makes terrible grilled cheese sandwiches.  I make my own.”

By now the doctor, a bit mischievous, launched into the conversation, looking at me out of the corner of his eye. His reply to her shocked me.  He approved!  He patted her hand and added, “Just hold that to one a week, okay?” Mom happily, almost jubilantly, made her own grilled cheese once a week.

It’s interesting how those memories come back at the most unexpected times. But then, I think about Mom so often, I’d guess it might be every day.

Our Heavenly Father sometimes indulges me.  It is then, when He gives me a want as well as my needs that I recall Ephesians 3:20 “Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, unto Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all the ages, world without end.  Amen.”

For Mom, that luxurious sandwich permission was “exceeding abundantly.”

1 Comment

  1. Wise doctor. Great story 🙂

Leave a Reply

