We Never Know

Recently I wrote on the numbering of our days.  Only God, our Father, knows when we will draw our last breath.  A wise former pastor of mine told us in youth group (yes, fifty years ago or more) that we should be ready to “pray, preach or die at a moment’s notice.”  It stuck with me and I suppose it always will.

So just a few moments ago I received a prayer request.  A friend told me that she witnessed a terrible accident at a gas station this afternoon.  A woman, whom my friend did not know, was just pumping gas, a routine task, when she was struck by a truck.  She was still alive when she was airlifted to a hospital, but just that suddenly, her life is hanging by a thread.  It horrified my friend. Of course it did.

Yesterday another sweet friend told me her mother-in-law was sitting on the couch, taking a snooze, and her heart simply quit beating.  Anyone in the house would have thought Grandma was catching a nap.  Gone.  In a moment.  Never to speak again or be spoken to.

Those are sobering events.  Of course we should plan for the future, but we need to live in the present.  Measure words and actions.  Those words and actions may leave a memory.  The last words my father spoke to me were, “You have been a good daughter.”  He dozed off in his hospital bed to never speak to me again.  My last words to my mother were, “I love you Mom.  Lord willing I’ll see you tomorrow.”  We never spoke again.  She lingered for three days in a state of lifelessness.  Her million-dollar smile was gone.

This is heavy, I know.  But it is also important.  I don’t want to be morbid but I do want to be realistic.  Romans 12 covers a large piece of ground in interpersonal relationships.  Give it a look, then embrace it for a while.

Most of all, “Boast not thyself of tomorrow for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth.” Proverbs 29:1

Leave a Reply

