This and That, Here and There

Over the years, I have developed a method for remembering tasks that are standing in need of action.  Now that I no longer work daily, things get away from me.  My tickle file piles up because I do not look at it regularly enough.  This is not a new idea.  Abraham Lincoln used a similar system by jotting ideas down and sticking them into his hatband.  Mine just land in a haphazard pile.

Here is an example of my actual  pile that I gathered together this morning:  a list of grandchildren’s birth years, a list of basic temperaments, (tossed now) various telephone numbers, various prayer requests (now put into a proper place), names of classmates I had in 1954 (now put with a scrapbooking pile),  a joke I used two weeks ago,  various scripture references, (now used and can be discarded) an e-mail address, a web site address, (keep this one) a quote by Dr. Ben Carson, (keep) Bible study notes on Noah(used, can toss), a vocabulary word to master (not yet done), a recipe for natural ingredients for weed killer, a book title to read, blog ideas, a sentence I diagramed (toss),  and finally, notes on how to yodel.

Some of these, as I indicated, are now in file 13, and some are put into their own category of piles, and some are set aside to organize further today into a document file that already exists, and some will stay, as in learning how to yodel.

The point of all this is that there is a motto that states, “Plan your work and work your plan.”  It is a good motto.  It also works hand in hand with Ephesians 5:16 which states, “Redeeming the time for the days are evil.”  It is very difficult to stay idle with a tickle file as well as a do-do list, and the always shopping list.  Give organization and priority to life.

Someday, I will learn how to yodel successfully.  Then I can sing along with Roy Rogers on my Pandora station.

2 Comments

  1. I should do this. I really, really should. . .

  2. What! No wisecrack about yodeling? or is that on your bucket list too. Just joshing.

Leave a Reply

