What Would You Do?

With test results in hand, the doctor solemnly looks at his patient and says, “It is acute leukemia.  You have approximately two weeks to live.”

This is not a hypothetical question.  Those words were spoken to an acquaintance of mine over the weekend.  Loreen has about two weeks left of her life.  Pastor announced it in church last night, and again this morning I heard the words again from a leader at the Senior Center.  Jan, a friend of mine said this: “I would gather every child, grandchild, and great-grandchild around me and tell them not to feel sorry for me. I am packed for Heaven.  Jesus paid my way and has a place waiting for me.  I want you all to know that you can know that you have a place in Heaven.”

Knowing myself as I do, whenever I get ready for a trip even if it for only a few days, I clean the refrigerator, change the bed, get the laundry all done, and make sure details are in order.  I want someone to check the mail for me, and feed the hamster.  If I were leaving permanently, as Loreen will, I’d give as much away as I could and leave things uncluttered.  The only time I’ll leave things in disarray is if Jesus should suddenly appear in that rapturous, glorious appearing to carry His own people away before the earth’s final destruction.  Spiritually, I’ll be ready, but the kitchen floor may need to be swept, and the bed made!

When it comes to the end, it is then we realize that this world holds nothing of lasting value. Nothing.  Everything of value has gone on before and even then, it may not be much.

The words of I John 5:12-13 are more precious than ever: “He that hath the Son hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God hath not life.  These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God, that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.”  My days are numbered, and reader, so are yours.

The reality for Believers is that we should always be ready to “pray, preach or die at a moment’s notice.”   I wish I could give credit to the person who coined that phrase.

If you received the same news as Loreen, what would you do?

6 Comments

  1. What blessing that she knows the Lord. I’m sure she wasn’t prepared to hear “You have about two weeks.”

    • As cancer does, she had not had any pain to indicate the seriousness of it. Even the church is in shock. It was and is a sobering time.

  2. .“..it is then we realize that this world holds nothing of lasting value. Nothing. Everything of value has gone on before and even then, it may not be much.”

    You’ve described it perfectly. That’s exactly how it feels! A person is too numb to try planning anything at that point.

  3. Even cancer survivors, as I am, tend to think in terms of terminal. It isn’t anything that lingers on my mind constantly, but now and then. She is in shock. We all are because she had nothing to make her think it was so serious.

  4. To answer your question: I would do all I can to make certain my wife’s final decisions regarding my disposition (earthly) were taken care of by friends. I would try to write a blog entry each day, lifting up the Lord Jesus and His providential sacrifice. As you know, NOTHING is as important as knowing that Jesus Christ died for our sins. According to Romans 10:13 “Everyone who calls upon the name of the Lord will be saved.” Rather than a debate over which religion is the best or most accurate, I quote the Book of Acts, chapter 4, verse 12: “There is salvation in no one else! God has given no other name under heaven by which we must be saved.”

  5. I’ve been meaning to update this but just haven’t gotten to it. Loreen died five days after her doctor gave her the diagnosis. I had never heard of acute leukemia prior to this but now in the past month have heard of two other cases as well. My pastor, when I was a teen, used to tell us to be ready to “pray, preach, or die at a moment’s notice. Often when I bid farewell to someone I know I won’t see for a long time I also say, “here, there, or in the air” which also calls to attention we do not know from day to day when our last words will be spoken.

Leave a Reply

