A Woman of Courage (Book Review)

This 322-page book is written by one of my favorite authors, Wanda Brunstetter.  It is a 2014 copyright by Shiloh Run Press, an imprint of Barbour Books, Uhrichvbille, OH.

Brunstetter is, in my opinion, the original Amish fiction writers.  She wrote Amish fiction before it was trendy.  Like her counterpart, Beverly Lewis, she writes with depth I find lacking in so much of the Amish fiction today.  This is a stand-alone book and fortunately for me, I captured the book for my e reader when it as a mere 99 cents.  It is now about ten times that much on Amazon as of today.

A Woman of Courage does not feature an Amish person as the protagonist.  Instead, the protagonist is a young woman of Quaker faith.  The opening two chapters lead the reader to think this book features a predictable plot and I almost set it aside.  Each chapter after that introduces a new and interesting character right up until almost the end of the book.  The characters are well developed and complex in nature.  The plot takes on a life of its own as well.  Just when the reader things nothing else difficult can possibly happen, well, think again!  If I were to tell you that at the end it is all packaged up into a neat little package, I might be misleading you!

If you choose only one Brunstetter book to read, choose this one.  It is delightful and tantalizing and spell binding  all at the same time. It is the sort of book that I keep to read again sometime if I am laid up with a broken bone.  There is no way I’ll remember exactly how the plot moved along.  I call it a “keeper.”

 

Leave a Reply

