At Calvary

A song for the day, today, Good Friday. Do you recall, as I do, that time was when schools and businesses closed at noon on Good Friday. Everything seemed to stop to remember that day when Jesus went to the cross, willingly, to pay the penalty in our place for our sin. Read the words, don’t sing them. Let the words sink in. And then read the simple way that the song was composed.
That closing of school for Friday afternoon to commemorate the love that flowed down At Calvary was the inkling I had as a child of what Easter was all about. I spent sixteen and a half years before I came by faith to trust Christ as the payment for my personal sins. It wasn’t “years” but certainly long enough to have had to stand at the White Throne judgment and be eternally condemned for refusing the gift so lovingly given to me. How about you.
Here’s the link to these wonderful words, beautifully presented, https://www.cobblestoneroadministry.org/2006/HymnStory_AtCalvary.html

2 Comments

  1. Much as I can recall from my childhood, here in Canada everything was closed for Good Friday and Easter Sunday. Possibly because our nation had a lot of Scottish Presbyterian influence and they were a pretty strict bunch.

  2. Yes, I remember. So sad that profit has overcome piety.

    I love this old gospel song, and the story behind it

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.