Hank, Go to Bed!

Like Hank, I have been exceptionally tired this week.  DLST seems to do it to me every time!

Hank could not seem to find a comfortable place to rest this morning.  He rooted around in the bedding trying to make a comfortable place but he looked very uncomfortable.  Poor little hamster guy.  I picked him up and he was so exhausted from running his night away on the exercise wheel, and his tummy was quite full.  He was lethargic and let me do anything with him.

Hank just needed some loving attention which, of course, I generously gave him.  I moved his little hamster hut, made it into a dark place to sleep and encouraged him to enter.  He is sleeping soundly and I saw evidence that he has been out, drank water, and now back inside.  Could the time change have caught up with him?  I don’t know.

What I do know is that I also am sometimes lethargic.  I read my Bible but it really doesn’t sink in. I hear encouragement and reply, “I suppose so,” and remain in a semi-comatose state spiritually.  It is then that it seems that Jesus tenderly provides a place of rest and nudges me into it.  I rest in His presence and come out refreshed and ready to run again.

Jesus encourages me often with the verses from Matthew 11:29-30 “Come unto me all ye that labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn of me, for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for another wonderful reminder of our “humanity.” It seems that we, as Christians, desire to be always on the mountaintop, with thrilling experiences daily, but I have learned that we soon wear out with so much of a good thing, and the valleys are there for our rest and reflection, as well as to provide a place of rejuvenation so we’ll be prepared for the next mountaintop! In fact, I learn so much from my peaceful times that I’m almost reluctant to leave them for the excitement that comes from watching God work in the lives of those we love. God is a God of balance, though, and He wisely gives us what we need to grow and be healthy children of His.

    Oh, for whatever it’s worth, DST does not seem to do me very much good, either…maybe I need to move to AZ!!!

    • About two hours after I selected the “publish post” button, I thought of the Shepherd and “He maketh me to lie down in green pastures” but decided not to go back and edit.
      Hank has many lessons yet to teach, too. This morning I let him out of his habitat so explore my desk. He crawled in and out of a drawer and across and around the keyboard, and traveled down a power cord to the floor–yikes, I fetched him back up to the desk top! So, later today I’ll write a post to tuck away for another day, “Hand Explores.” Thank you, Glenda, for your comments. They are always useful.

  2. I’m SO far behind in my blog-reading. Hoping today is a catch-up day. I loved this post, Karyl. Clear picture of God holding us in His hand, preparing a place for us to rest.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.