Dogs and Love

“By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples that ye show love one to another.” John 3:35

My neighbor, Patrick, owns five dogs of various sizes and breeds. He is also a very good dog owner. Each morning and evening he walks all five dogs at the same time. Somehow the leashes never tangle. He lives just two houses down from me so I see him often. His dogs were the only dogs I let my dog associate with because I knew his dogs did not have fleas!

Last week one early evening I met Patrick and his dogs as I was walking back from my daughter’s house. We were about a half block away when they saw me. They started greeting me and hurried him along! I stepped up my pace to rescue Patrick. As soon as I became close enough to reach out a loving hand they quit the noise and clamored around me. After pats of attention, they all sat down while I chatted a few minutes.

I like the dogs. It is a mutual admiration group when we meet. Patrick told me that evening that I am the only one on his walks that they treat that way. He mentioned, “I guess they see love coming their way,” and added, “Most people avoid us.” As I continued my short walk across my back yard and into the back door I was left thinking, “What do people think when they see me coming?” Do they see interest, or indifference? Do they see love, or fear?

“God is love,” we read in I John 4. If we are to be examples and hands of Jesus in this world, we better be known as a loving, kind, gracious person. The old country saying is, “You can’t fool dogs. . .” At least, Patrick’s dogs have me pegged as an animal lover and they couldn’t be more correct!

11 Comments

  1. Glenda

    How wonderful that you have befriended that family of canines! Another great object lesson, too, and something to think about as we examine ourselves. Thank you for this!

  2. Karyl…if you haven’t already started, then begin now…COLLECT ALL YOUR POSTS and put them in a DEVOTIONAL BOOK…..for the rest of us.

  3. Wow, this is a powerful Post!!!! I may re-blog next Saturday if it is OK?? Watch out for fleas….. LOL

    Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • sure. you are welcome. I thought this one was a dud myself! I was really sharing what God gave me, but didn’t find it particularly “rich” in content. However, it is compelling.

    • I have thought about making a master copy of most of these for one of the kids to find someday. I’m inclined to believe that someone will say, “Well, look at this, I want it.” and everyone else will look, say, hmmm, you can have it as far as I’m concerned. That will end it. I can make one for YOU if you’d like. Now, my Bible study lessons–those are worth something for all the hours of preparation I’ve put into them, but again, they will end up in one child’s hands and hopefully be used to enrich others.

  4. Reblogged this on Morning Story and Dilbert.

  5. Reblogged this on One Starving Activist.

  6. If only more people in the world fully understood what it means to be the hands and feet of Jesus for others…

  7. Your words, “What will people see when they see me coming?” will resonate in my heart for a long time. Thank you for this writing! Keep up the good work!

  8. A beautiful post – made my day thank you 🙂

  9. Outstanding, Karyl.

Leave a Reply

